ASP.NET at Arapahoe Community College

We all have something we’d like to do “when we retire”. For me, it’s teaching. After a successful programming career, I’d like to retire and teach at a community college. What better way to give back to the local community by teaching others how to excel in their fields? But if there’s something that’s worth doing later in life, why isn’t it worth doing now?

Well, I’m not about to retire YET, and my career at NewsGator is heating up after the acquisition of Tomoye this week. But still, why should I wait until I retire? Starting Monday, January 25th I’ll be teaching ASP.NET Application Development at Arapahoe Community College. I’ll cover the basics but we’re going to heat it up pretty quickly as we get into modern web application development. One thing for sure—”classic” ASP.NET is dead. So we’ll cover the underlying technology, course requirements, and then how to build a modern application framework using AJAX and web services. Oh, and a little bit of ASP.NET of course. 🙂

If you’re in the Denver area, you can register at http://www.arapahoe.edu/ and sign up for class “CSC 253 MS ASP.NET WEB APP DEVELOPMENT”. Here’s the textbook: Beginning ASP.NET 3.5 In C#.

UPDATE: STUDENTS, the class folder share is here: ACC_ASPNET. You can download the class slides and course syllabus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment